Waygate Technologies

Baker Hughes – Waygate Technologies

With more than 125 years of experience, Waygate Technologies is one of the world's leading providers of industrial inspection solutions in the Baker Hughes group. Its broad product portfolio includes industrial X-rays, computed tomography, remote visual inspection, ultrasonic and eddy current inspection, and serves customers in the automotive, aerospace, electronics and energy industries.

Unify product development with hybrid approach

To develop its own product lines, Waygate implements customer-specific programs. The challenge is to design the company's own resource and schedule planning in such a way that the requirements of the customer programs are met and their development statuses are made transparent. The evolved, customer-specific procedure was therefore developed into a uniform standard that takes into account the specific circumstances of product development through the use of a hybrid planning procedure.

„The cultural change in the way the company works has been enormous and has swept through the company like a wave. The clear designation of responsibilities and clarification of roles were essential factors in carrying out projects more calmly. Now it is clear who is in which role, why, and who gets what information and when.“

Eberhard Neuser, Technology Leader Industrial X-Ray Waygate Technologies

 

Contribution HoPM

A targeted analysis of the existing project management methodology as well as best practices provided suitable measures to increase the transparency and thus the adherence to schedules of programs. The identified measures were documented in a new project management process and their implementation in 2 programs was accompanied in parallel.

Special Challanges:
The new hybrid approach required the combination of the existing classic PM roles with agile roles from the SCRUM approach. Only a clear role definition combined with clearly defined communication structures led to the desired increase in transparency regarding the project status. The simultaneous introduction of SMART Sheet and the combination of agile and classic planning in this tool sustainably supports resource and time planning.

Digital Dialog

Are you interested in more detailed information on project success? Simply book an appointment for a digital dialog with us.

Book here



House of PM Newsletter

Twice a year we report in our newsletter about news & trends in project management and current publications of House of PM. Furthermore we regularly invite to current events.

 








  •

Waygate Technologies

Baker Hughes – Waygate Technologies

Mit mehr als 125 Jahren Erfahrung ist Waygate Technologies einer der weltweit führende Anbieter für industrielle Inspektionslösungen in der Baker Hughes Gruppe. Das breite Produktportfolio umfasst industrielles Röntgen, Computertomografie, visuelle Ferninspektion sowie Ultraschall- und Wirbelstrominspektionen und bedient Kunden aus der Automobil-, Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie ebenso wie aus der Elektronik- und Energiebranche.

Produktentwicklung mit hybridem Ansatz vereinheitlichen

Zur Entwicklung eigener Produktlinien setzt Waygate kundenspezifische Programme um. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, die eigenen Ressourcen- und Zeitplanungen so zu gestalten, dass die Anforderungen der Kundenprogramme erfüllt und deren Entwicklungsstände transparent gemacht werden. Das gewachsene, kundenindividuelle Vorgehen wurde deshalb zu einem einheitlichen Standard entwickelt, der durch den Einsatz eines hybriden Planungsvorgehens die spezifischen Gegebenheiten der Produktentwicklung berücksichtigt.

„Die Kulturveränderung in der Arbeitsweise des Unternehmens war enorm und ist wie eine Welle durchs Unternehmen gerollt. Die klare Benennung von Zuständigkeiten und Klärung der Rollen waren wesentliche Faktoren, um Projekte unaufgeregter durchzuführen. Nun ist klar, wer warum in welcher Rolle ist und wer wann welche Information bekommt.“

Eberhard Neuser, Technology Leader Industrial X-Ray Waygate Technologies

 

Unser Beitrag

Eine gezielte Analyse der bestehenden Projektmanagement- Methodik sowie Best Practises lieferte geeignete Maßnahmen die Transparenz und damit die Termintreue von Programmen zu erhöhen. Die identifizierten Maßnahmen wurden in einem neuen Projektmanagement- Prozess dokumentiert und ihre Implementierung in 2 Programmen parallel begleitet.

Besondere Herausforderung:
Der neue hybride Ansatz erforderte die Kombination der bestehenden klassischen PM-Rollen mit agilen Rollen aus dem SCRUM- Ansatz. Erst eine klare Rollendefinition verbunden mit definierten Kommunikationsstrukturen führte zu der gewünschten Steigerung der Transparenz über den Projektstatus. Die zeitgleiche Einführung von SMART Sheet und die Zusammenführung der agilen und klassischen Planung in diesem Tool unterstützt die Ressourcen- und Zeitplanung nachhaltig.

Ansprechpartnerin

Sibylle Schmidtke

Consultant

s.schmidtke[at]hopm.eu

Digitaler Dialog

Sie sind an detaillierteren Informationen zu Projekterfolgen interessiert?
Buchen Sie sich doch einfach einen Termin zum digitalen Dialog mit uns.

Hier buchen



House of PM Newsletter

Zweimal im Jahr berichten wir in unserem Newsletter über Neuigkeiten & Trends im Projektmanagement und aktuelle Veröffentlichungen des House of PM. Darüber hinaus laden wir regelmäßig zu aktuellen Veranstaltungen ein.






  •