Vodafone

Die Gigabit Company

Every second German surfs, phones or streams with Vodafone Germany - for business or pleasure. With its extensive product portfolio in mobile communications, Internet, fixed network and entertainment, Vodafone is one of the leading telecommunications providers in Germany and worldwide.

A smooth migration for the GigaTV platform

With the acquisition of Unity Media in 2019, it was not only a matter of merging two corporate organizations, but also in particular of merging the product portfolio and aligning ongoing projects with different levels of maturity. For the Entertainment segment, this meant in particular merging two TV platforms into a cloud-based GigaTV platform that ensures a consistent TV experience for Vodafone customers across countries.

„With the critical examination of our setup by House of PM, we were able to identify all relevant factors that are critical for the success of such a complex migration on the project management side right at the beginning of our project. Based on the insights we gained, we were able to adjust the structures and processes in a targeted manner so that all parties involved can now work together in the best possible way despite different project management maturity levels.“

Wolfgang Zeller, Head of Video Center of Excellence, Vodafone

 

Contribution HoPM:

In the course of this complex migration project, the House of PM was commissioned with the continuous monitoring, controlling and improvement of the project landscape. For the identification and evaluation of all success-critical parameters, a "Health Check Report" was implemented, which covers the most diverse areas, such as communication, organization, planning and stakeholder management on the basis of a catalog of measures and at the same time subjects them to risk management.

A special feature of the project is the extensive changes in the project environment: These resulted on the one hand from the company takeover itself, but also from the consideration of possibilities for future product development and network expansion. In addition, all changes had to be made during ongoing operations without affecting existing services and functions.
Last but not least, project management was carried out 100% remotely, taking into account a wide range of cultures in an international context due to the pandemic.

Contact

Hauke Thun

Managing Director

h.thun[at]hopm.eu

Frédéric Woschniak

Project Management

f.woschniak[at]hopm.eu

Digital Dialog

Are you interested in more detailed information on project success? Simply book an appointment for a digital dialog with us.

Book here



House of PM Newsletter

Twice a year we report in our newsletter about news & trends in project management and current publications of House of PM. Furthermore we regularly invite to current events.

 








  •

Vodafone

Die Gigabit Company

Jeder zweite Deutsche surft, telefoniert oder streamt mit Vodafone Deutschland – beruflich oder privat. Mit seinem umfangreichen Produktportfolio in den Bereichen Mobilfunk, Internet, Festnetz und Unterhaltung gehört Vodafone zu einem der führenden Telekommunikationsanbieter Deutschlands und weltweit.

Eine reibungslose Migration für die GigaTV-Plattform

Mit der Übernahme von Unity Media im Jahr 2019 galt es nicht nur zwei Unternehmensorganisationen zusammenzuführen, sondern insbesondere auch das Produktportfolio zu verschmelzen und laufende Projekte mit unterschiedlichen Reifegraden aufeinander abzustimmen. Für den Bereich Unterhaltung bedeutete dies insbesondere die Verschmelzung zweier TV-Plattformen zu einer cloudbasierten GigaTV-Plattform, die für Vodafone-Kunden länderübergreifend ein einheitliches TV-Erlebnis sicherstellt.

„Mit der kritischen Betrachtung unseres Setups durch House of PM haben wir bereits zu Beginn unseres Projekts alle relevanten Faktoren identifizieren können, die projektmanagementseitig für das Gelingen solch einer komplexen Migration erfolgskritisch sind. Auf Basis der gewonnenen Einsichten konnten wir die Strukturen und Prozesse gezielt so anpassen, dass nun alle involvierten Parteien trotz unterschiedlicher Projektmanagement-Reifegrade bestmöglich zusammenarbeiten können.“

Wolfgang Zeller, Head of Video Center of Excellence, Vodafone

 

Unser Beitrag

Im Zuge dieses komplexen Migrationsprojektes wurde das House of PM mit dem kontinuierlichen Monitoring, Controlling und verbesserung der Projektlandschaft beauftragt. Für die Identifikation und Bewertung aller erfolgskritischen Parameter wurde ein „Health Check Report“ implementiert, der die unterschiedlichsten Bereiche, wie beispielsweise Communication, Organisation, Planning und Stakeholder Management anhand eines Maßnahmenkataloges abdeckt und dabei gleichzeitig einem Risk Management unterzieht.

Eine Besonderheit des Projektes ist in den umfangreichen Änderungen im Projektumfeld begründet: Diese ergaben sich einerseits aus der Unternehmensübernahme an sich, darüber hinaus aber auch aus der Berücksichtigung von Möglichkeiten für künftige Produktweiterentwicklung sowie den Netzausbau. Zudem mussten sämtliche Umstellungen bei laufendem Betrieb erfolgen, ohne bestehende Dienste und Funktionen zu beeinträchtigen.
Last but not least: Die Projektsteuerungen erfolgten unter Berücksichtigung verschiedenster Kulturen im internationalen Kontext pandemiebedingt zu 100% remote.

Ansprechpartner

Hauke Thun

Managing Director

h.thun[at]hopm.eu

Frédéric Woschniak

Project Management

f.woschniak[at]hopm.eu

Digitaler Dialog

Sie sind an detaillierteren Informationen zu Projekterfolgen interessiert?
Buchen Sie sich doch einfach einen Termin zum digitalen Dialog mit uns.

Hier buchen



House of PM Newsletter

Zweimal im Jahr berichten wir in unserem Newsletter über Neuigkeiten & Trends im Projektmanagement und aktuelle Veröffentlichungen des House of PM. Darüber hinaus laden wir regelmäßig zu aktuellen Veranstaltungen ein.






  •