Medac

Medical Device Regulation newly implemented

Medac GmbH is a German pharmaceutical company with over 1,200 employees that focuses on therapeutics for the diagnosis and treatment of oncological, urological and autoimmune diseases. The company is represented in 15 countries worldwide.

Compliance with and implementation of the requirements of the Medical Devices Ordinance

Medac GmbH was faced with the challenge of the new Medical Devices Regulation (MDR). What at first glance appeared to be a long period of implementation turned out to be an ambitious goal on closer inspection. The new regulation deeply intervened in the complex development processes and also applied to products that had already been launched on the market in accordance with earlier regulations. In addition to the time-consuming conversion processes, delays resulting from the necessary tests and approvals also had to be taken into account. The interaction with various country organizations brought additional complexity.

„This project showed how important good stakeholder management is in projects right from the start. Only the kickoff event with key representatives from the specialist departments showed the scope that was required by the change in the law in the organization and also created the necessary understanding for the urgency among parts of the management. The requirements analysis carried out revealed a mountain of measures, the feasibility of which was evaluated by the interdisciplinary team in terms of costs and benefits. The biggest challenge was not to lose parts of the team again due to the sheer number of requirements and their tasks in day-to-day business.“

Dr. S. Schubert - Project Management

 

Contribution HoPM:

During the initial discussion of the regulation, an initial, very rough analysis of the requirements was carried out. The subsequent kickoff meeting on the subject of EU MDR with all the departments involved met with a great response and created a common awareness of the scope within the departments and management. Under the direction of the project manager, the cross-functional team evaluated all requirements and derived appropriate measures for implementation. This also resulted in strategic questions regarding the product range and the organizational structure. For example, the project team considered whether the continuation of an affected product line was still economically viable. The constant restructuring of the company and the bridging to parallel running development projects posed an additional challenge.

Through targeted communication, all information relevant to the project could be provided and conflicts avoided at an early stage. In addition, the necessary tools for planning were compiled from the available system and supplemented by our own methods for stakeholder and requirements analysis.

Contact

Dr. Sophia Schubert

Project Management

s.schubert[at]hopm.eu

Digital Dialog

Are you interested in more detailed information on project success? Simply book an appointment for a digital dialog with us.

Book here



House of PM Newsletter

Twice a year we report in our newsletter about news & trends in project management and current publications of House of PM. Furthermore we regularly invite to current events.

 








  •

Medac

Medizinprodukteverordnung neu umgesetzt

Die medac GmbH ist ein deutsches Pharmaunternehmen mit über 1.200 Mitarbeitern, welches sich auf Therapeutika zur Diagnostik und Behandlung onkologischer, urologischer und autoimmuner Erkrankungen fokussiert. Das Unternehmen ist in 15 Ländern weltweit vertreten.

Einhaltung und Umsetzung der Anforderungen der Medizinprodukteverordnung

Die medac GmbH war vor die Herausforderung der neuen Medizinprodukteverordnung gestellt. Was auf den ersten Blick wie ein langer Zeitraum der Umsetzung erschien, entpuppe sich bei genauerer Betrachtung als ambitioniertes Ziel. Denn die neue Verordnung griff tief in die komplexen Entwicklungsprozesse ein und galt außerdem ebenfalls für Produkte, die bereits entsprechend früheren Verordnungen auf den Markt gebracht wurden. Neben den zeitaufwändigen Umstellungsprozessen mussten auch Verzögerungen berücksichtig werden, die sich durch erforderliche Prüfungen und Zulassungen ergaben. Eine zusätzliche Komplexität brachte das Zusammenspiel mit verschiedenen Länderorganisationen.

„Dieses Projekt hat gezeigt, wie wichtig gutes Stakeholdermanagement in Projekten von Beginn an ist. Erst durch die Kickoff Veranstaltung mit wesentlichen Vertretern aus den Fachabteilungen zeigte die Tragweite auf, die durch die Gesetzesänderung in der Organisation erforderlich war, und schaffte auch bei Teilen der GF das nötige Verständnis für die Dringlichkeit. Die durchgeführte Anforderungsanalyse zeigte einen Berg an Maßnahmen auf, deren Umsetzbarkeit im Hinblick auf Kosten und Nutzen durch das interdisziplinäre Team bewertet wurden.  Die größte Herausforderung dabei war, Teile des Teams aufgrund der schieren Anzahl an Anforderungen sowie ihrer Aufgaben im Tagesgeschäft nicht wieder zu verlieren.“

Dr. S. Schubert - Project Management

 

Unser Beitrag

Während der ersten Auseinandersetzung mit der Verordnung wurde, bereits eine initiale, sehr grobe Analyse der Anforderungen vorgenommen. Das anschließende Kickoff Meeting zum Thema EU MDR mit allen beteiligten Fachabteilungen stieß auf große Resonanz und schaffte ein gemeinsames Bewusstsein für den Umfang innerhalb der Fachabteilungen und Geschäftsführung. Unter Steuerung der Projektmanagerin bewertete das cross-funktionale Team alle Anforderungen und leitet entsprechende Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung ab. Dabei ergaben sich auch strategische Fragestellungen bzgl. der Produktpalette und der Organisationsstruktur. So betrachtet das Projektteam, ob sich die Fortführung einer betroffenen Produktlinie wirtschaftlich weiterhin lohne. Die ständigen Umstrukturierungen des Unternehmens und der Brückenschlag zu parallel laufenden Entwicklungsprojekten stellten eine zusätzliche Herausforderung dar.

Durch eine zielgerichtete Kommunikation konnten alle fürs Projekt relevanten Informationen bereitgestellt und Konflikte frühzeitig vermieden werden. Zusätzlich wurden aus dem verfügbaren System die notwendigen Werkzeuge zur Planung zusammengestellt und durch eigene Methoden zur Stakeholder- und Requirementsanalyse ergänzt.

Ansprechpartnerin

Dr. Sophia Schubert

Project Management

s.schubert[at]hopm.eu

Digitaler Dialog

Sie sind an detaillierteren Informationen zu Projekterfolgen interessiert?
Buchen Sie sich doch einfach einen Termin zum digitalen Dialog mit uns.

Hier buchen



House of PM Newsletter

Zweimal im Jahr berichten wir in unserem Newsletter über Neuigkeiten & Trends im Projektmanagement und aktuelle Veröffentlichungen des House of PM. Darüber hinaus laden wir regelmäßig zu aktuellen Veranstaltungen ein.






  •