Lenze Service GmbH

Automation for mechanical engineering

Over 70 years of company history, more than 3,700 employees in 60 countries: Lenze has developed from its beginnings as a pure trading company into a leading global automation company for mechanical engineering.

Venturing into a new approach to project management

By assuming responsibility for fully ensuring a replacement equipment production, Lenze entered new territory. The approach, which had previously been strongly oriented towards Lean/Six Sigma, was methodically supplemented and pragmatically integrated into existing processes by the project managers from the House of PM. Thus, despite limited resources, the project was completed on time and a delivery stop was prevented.

“Lenze broke new ground with this project. Not only in terms of the project content, but also in terms of the customized project management approach. Change at all levels. In addition to the content issues of this novel project, the greatest challenge was to appropriately dose, establish, and anchor the change in the organization's work methods, structures, and processes. (S. Resch, Project Manager)”

S. Resch, Projektmanager

 

Contribution HoPM:

The takeover of the project by the service organization at a very early stage, presented one of the special challenges of the project. Since there were ambiguities in the formulation of objectives at the beginning, these were first worked out. Through a systematic clarification of the task, it was possible to define the goals precisely and overcome the skepticism about template-based working methods.

Another challenge was meeting the fixed end date without fixed resource commitments. Since important resources were still tied up in other projects, solutions had to be found. The services offered by the House of PM were project design and interim project management.

A decisive difference in the project work could be made through a workshop-based approach, in which the use of templates was dispensed with. The use of timeboxing and the Stacey matrix for environment analysis finally brought the project to success.

Contact

Stefan Resch

Project Management

s.resch[at]hopm.eu

Digital Dialog

Are you interested in more detailed information on project success? Simply book an appointment for a digital dialog with us.

Book here



House of PM Newsletter

Twice a year we report in our newsletter about news & trends in project management and current publications of House of PM. Furthermore we regularly invite to current events.

 








  •

Lenze Service GmbH

Automatisierung für den Maschinenbau

Über 70 Jahre Firmengeschichte, mehr als 3.700 Mitarbeiter in 60 Ländern: Lenze hat sich von seinen Anfängen als reines Handelsunternehmen zu einem weltweit führenden Automatisierungsunternehmen für den Maschinenbau entwickelt.

Neue Vorgehensweise im Projektmanagement wagen

Mit der Verantwortungsübernahme für die vollumfängliche Sicherstellung einer Ersatzgerätefertigung betrat Lenze Neuland. Das bisher stark an Lean/Six Sigma orientiert Vorgehen wurde durch die Projektmanager aus dem House of PM nach Maß methodisch ergänzt und pragmatisch in bestehende Prozesse integriert. So konnte das Projekt trotz begrenzter Ressourcen pünktlich abgeschlossen und ein Lieferstopp verhindert werden.

“Lenze hat mit diesem Vorhaben Neuland betreten. Nicht nur was den Projektinhalt angeht, sondern auch bezogen auf den maßgeschneiderten Projektmanagementansatz. Veränderung auf allen Ebenen. Die größte Herausforderung war es, neben den inhaltlichen Fragestellungen dieses neuartigen Vorhabens vor allem die Veränderung der Arbeitsweisen, Strukturen und Prozesse der Organisation entsprechend zu dosieren, zu etablieren und zu verankern.”

S. Resch, Projektmanager

 

Unser Beitrag

Die Übernahme des Vorhabens durch die Serviceorganisation zu einem sehr frühen Zeitpunkt, stellte eine der besonderen Herausforderungen des Projektes dar. Da es zu Beginn Unklarheiten in der Zielformulierung gab, wurden diese erst einmal herausgearbeitet. Durch eine systematische Auftragsklärung konnte eine genaue Zieldefinition vorgenommen und die Skepsis gegenüber Template-basierter Arbeitsweise überwunden werden.

Eine weitere Herausforderung, war die Einhaltung des fixen Endtermins ohne fixe Ressourcenzusagen. Da noch wichtige Ressourcen in anderen Projekten gebunden waren, mussten dafür Lösungen gefunden werden. Die angebotenen Leistungen des House of PM waren das Projektdesign und das interim Projektmanagement.

Ein entscheidender Unterschied in der Projektarbeit konnte durch ein Workshopbasiertes Vorgehen gemacht werden, bei dem auf den Einsatz von Templates verzichtet wurde. Das hinzuziehen von Timeboxing und der Stacey-Matrix zur Umfeldanalyse brachten das Projekt schlussendlich zum Erfolg.

Ansprechpartner

Stefan Resch

Project Management

s.resch[at]hopm.eu

Digitaler Dialog

Sie sind an detaillierteren Informationen zu Projekterfolgen interessiert?
Buchen Sie sich doch einfach einen Termin zum digitalen Dialog mit uns.

Hier buchen



House of PM Newsletter

Zweimal im Jahr berichten wir in unserem Newsletter über Neuigkeiten & Trends im Projektmanagement und aktuelle Veröffentlichungen des House of PM. Darüber hinaus laden wir regelmäßig zu aktuellen Veranstaltungen ein.






  •