Elbphilharmonie

HamburgMusik gGmbH (HMusik)

HamburgMusik gGmbH is responsible for the operation of the concert hall Laeiszhalle and Elbphilharmonie Hamburg. Under the direction of General Director Christoph Lieben-Seutter, HamburgMusik organizes a multifaceted and cosmopolitan program of various musical genres at many venues in Hamburg.

Commissioning of the Elbphilharmonie

The construction of the Elbe Philharmonic Hall (Elbphilharmonie) is one of the most notorious projects in Germany due to its costs and construction delays. Completion was delayed several times, including a one-and-a-half-year construction stop. Only after an extensive project reorganization between the architects, the client and the construction company did construction continue. HamburgMusik, which was to put the new concert hall into operation at the highest level of quality, acted independently of this. As a lighthouse project with international appeal, the successful and timely deployment of all necessary services had to be ensured. These included, in particular, event management, event technology, building and infrastructure management, and visitor services. In order to meet this challenge, the team of HamburgMusik gGmbH, which was responsible for the project, was completely reorganized for the task of project management.

„The main challenge was that the project team had to start a new way of working right away with a very demanding, high-profile major project. The task was therefore to establish a level of project management suitable for the company within a short period of time so that it could master the tasks ahead.“

Sibylle Schmidtke, Projektmanager

 

Contribution HoPM:

In order to adequately prepare for the 2.5 year duration of the project, the project managers of House Of PM began to map the identified task areas onto a project phase plan and to refine it with the project team. The established project office supported the sub-project managers in planning and controlling their sub-areas and carried out the controlling of the project. The establishment of structures in project documentation and reporting also increased clarity.

The scope of services also included the professionalization of HamburgMusik's project management. For this purpose, a project manual was created in close cooperation with the company. HoPM supported and accompanied HamburgMusik in the process of sustainably implementing a new methodical way of working.

A project-specific feature was the great public attention that the opening of the Elbphilharmonie drew. The delay in construction and unforeseen costs increased the pressure to open the concert hall without further delay. In addition, there was the large number of stakeholders that had to be proactively involved as well as the consolidation of the affected departments that had to be prepared for the commissioning. Furthermore, HamburgMusik faced the challenge of implementing new ways of working as well as the existing day-to-day business.

Contact

Hauke Thun

Managing Director

h.thun[at]hopm.eu

Sibylle Schmidtke

Consultant

s.schmidtke[at]hopm.eu

Digital Dialog

Are you interested in more detailed information on project success? Simply book an appointment for a digital dialog with us.

Book here



House of PM Newsletter

Twice a year we report in our newsletter about news & trends in project management and current publications of House of PM. Furthermore we regularly invite to current events.

 








  •

Elbphilharmonie

HamburgMusik gGmbH (HMusik)

Die HamburgMusik gGmbH ist für den Betrieb des Konzerthauses Laeiszhalle und Elbphilharmonie Hamburg zuständig. Unter der Leitung von Generalintendant Christoph Lieben-Seutter veranstaltet die HamburgMusik ein facettenreiches und weltoffenes Programm verschiedener musikalischer Genres an vielen Spielorten in Hamburg.

Inbetriebnahme der Elbphilharmonie

Der Bau der Elbphilharmonie ist durch seine Kosten und Bauverzögerung eines der bekanntesten Projekte deutschlandweit. Die Fertigstellung verzögerte sich mehrfach, u. a. auch durch einen anderthalbjährigen Baustopp. Erst nach einer umfangreichen Projektneuordnung zwischen den Architekten, dem Bauherren und der Baufirma wurde weitergebaut. Davon abhängig agierte die HamburgMusik, welche das neue Konzerthaus auf höchstem qualitativem Niveau in Betrieb nehmen sollte. Als Leuchtturmprojekt mit internationaler Strahlkraft war die erfolgreiche und termingerechte Bereitstellung aller notwendigen Dienstleistungen sicherzustellen. Dazu gehören insbesondere die Bereiche Veranstaltungsmanagement, Veranstaltungstechnik, Gebäude- und Infrastrukturmanagement als auch Besucherservice. Um dieser Herausforderung gewachsen zu sein, hat sich das Team der verantwortlichen HamburgMusik gGmbH für die Aufgabenstellung Projektmanagement ganz neu aufgestellt.

„Die Herausforderung bestand vor allem darin, dass das Projektteam eine neue Arbeitsweise gleich mit einem sehr anspruchsvollen, öffentlichkeitswirksamen Großprojekt starten musste. Es ging also darum, innerhalb kurzer Zeit ein für das Unternehmen geeignetes Maß an Projektmanagement zu etablieren, damit es die bevorstehenden Aufgaben meistert.“

H. Thun, Projektmanager

 

Unser Beitrag

Um die 2,5 Jahre Laufzeit des Projektes adäquat vorzubereiten, begannen die Projektmanager von House Of PM damit die identifizierten Aufgabenbereiche auf einen Projektphasenplan umzulegen und mit dem Projektteam zu verfeinern. Das aufgesetzte Projektbüro unterstützte die Teilprojektleiter bei der Planung und Steuerung ihrer Teilbereiche und führte das Controlling des Projektes durch. Die Etablierung von Strukturen in der Projektdokumentation und im Berichtwesen erhöhten die Übersichtlichkeit zudem.

Zum Leistungsspektrum gehörte auch die Professionalisierung des Projektmanagements der HamburgMusik. Dazu wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Unternehmen ein Projekthandbuch erstellt. HoPM unterstützte und begleitete die HamburgMusik in dem Prozess eine neue methodische Arbeitsweise nachhaltig zu implementieren.

Eine projektspezifische Besonderheit war die große öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit, die der Eröffnung der Elbphilharmonie zukam. Die Bauzeitverzögerung sowie unvorhergesehene Kosten, erhöhten den Druck, das Konzerthaus ohne weitere Verzögerung zu eröffnen. Dazu kam die hohe Anzahl der Beteiligten, die proaktiv eingebunden werden mussten sowie die Zusammenführung der betroffenen Fachabteilungen, die auf die Inbetriebnahme vorzubereiten waren. Des Weiteren stand die HamburgMusik vor der Herausforderung neben der Implementierung neuer Arbeitsweisen auch das bestehende Tagesgeschäft umzusetzen.

Ansprechpartner

Hauke Thun

Managing Director

h.thun[at]hopm.eu

Sibylle Schmidtke

Consultant

s.schmidtke[at]hopm.eu

Digitaler Dialog

Sie sind an detaillierteren Informationen zu Projekterfolgen interessiert?
Buchen Sie sich doch einfach einen Termin zum digitalen Dialog mit uns.

Hier buchen



House of PM Newsletter

Zweimal im Jahr berichten wir in unserem Newsletter über Neuigkeiten & Trends im Projektmanagement und aktuelle Veröffentlichungen des House of PM. Darüber hinaus laden wir regelmäßig zu aktuellen Veranstaltungen ein.






  •